Alba Series

  • Alba Series
  • Alba Series
  • Alba Series
  • Alba Series
Non Members $135.00
Members $135.00



The Alba series is aimed at older catch-up pupils who have gaps in their phonics knowledge.  

It is a set of 12 books that offers a recap of the simple part of the phonic code, starting at CVC/CVCC words, adjacent consonants, consonant digraphs (ch, sh, th, ck, ng, qu, wh), -ed and ing suffixes, and then to alternative spellings of vowel sounds: ‘ae’, ‘ee’, ‘oe’, ‘er’, ‘ow’, ‘igh’ and ‘oo’. Initial pages focus on targeted words found in the story as well as a vocabulary page to establish or recollect meaning. Two beat words used in the text are split into syllables to help the decoding process.

The series follows an identical phonic progression to the Totem series and can be used alongside Totem for further practise.

This series features a strong and resourceful heroine that will have special appeal to older girls. The books tell a story of Alba whose father, a scientist, is trying to save apple trees from being destroyed by bugs. Our girl hero becomes involved in many adventures in her quest to help her father.

Book 1: Lost (sequence: CVC, CVCC)

Book 2: The Plan (sequence: CVC, CVCC, CCVC)

Book 3: Alba Slips Up (sequence: CVC, CVCC, CCVC)

Book 4: Hot Chips for Lunch (sequence: sh, ch, th)

Book 5: A Bit of Luck (sequence: ck, ng, qu, wh)

Book 6 : A Brave Escape (sequence: ai, ay, a-e, a)

Book 7: Apple Trees (sequence: ee, ea, e, y, ey)

Book 8: The Long Road Home (sequence: o-e, ow, ao, o)

Book 9: Supper (sequence: er, ir, ur)

Book 10: Howling Wind (sequence: ow, ou)

Book 11: River Flight (sequence: igh, i-e, y, i)

Book 12:  The Truth (sequence: oo, ew, u-e, u)


Complete your set with the practical workbook (272 pages), containing activities relating to the Alba Series books. It is photocopiable and has activities for segmenting, blending, phoneme manipulation and comprehension.